MITTELFRANKEN (Middle Franconia) / BAVARIA / GERMANY

Population

Inhabitants

Year

1900	815,895
1910	930,868
1939	1,065,122
1950	1,273,030
1961	1,371,144
1970	1,486,389
1987	1,521,484

2002	1,703,869	
2005	1,712,275	
2006	1,712,622	
2008	1,714,453	
2010	1,710,876	
2015	1,738,686	
2019	1,775,169	

History

After the founding of the Kingdom of Bavaria the state was totally reorganised and, in 1808, divided into 15 administrative government regions (German: Regierungsbezirke (singular Regierungsbezirk)), in Bavaria called Kreise (singular: Kreis). They were created in the fashion of the French departements, quite even in size and population, and named after their main rivers.

In the following years, due to territorial changes (e. g. loss of Tyrol, addition of the Palatinate), the number of Kreise was reduced to 8. One of these was the Rezatkreis (Rezat District). In 1837 king Ludwig I of Bavaria renamed the Kreise after historical territorial names and tribes of the area. This also involved some border changes or territorial swaps. Thus the district name of Rezatkreis changed to Middle Franconia.

Main sights

Next to the major city Nuremberg, the capital Ansbach and the former residence city Erlangen, the towns of the Romantic Road Rothenburg ob der Tauber and Dinkelsbühl belong to the major tourist attractions. The Lichtenau Fortress, Rothenberg Fortress, Hohenstein and Cadolzburg belong to the most important castles of Middle Franconia. The Franconian Jura and the northern valley of the River Altmühl are among the scenic attractions.

Coat of arms

The coat of arms displays:

- the black and white pattern of the Hohenzollern family in the upper dexter quarter (the first quarter)^[5]
- the Arms of Franconia in the lower dexter quarter (the 3rd quarter)^[6]
- the sinister half of the German Imperial Eagle (similar to that displayed by the German Confederation) in the sinister half.